• English
  • Japanese

How to share files and folders using shared link

Box allows you to share folders and files (contents) using URL. In contrast to the collaboration, the other sharing party is only permitted to preview and download shared contents.

How to start and stop sharing?

Start sharing

You can start sharing of contents by selecting [共有 (Share)] beside the contents. You can find a pop-up window when you select [共有 (Share)].
Please find the description of the pop-up window here.

The indication of [共有 (Share)] beside the shared contents changes to [共有済み (Shared)] during the sharing.

Stop sharing

You can stop sharing from the pop-up window displayed by selecting [共有済み (Shared)] that is beside the shared contents. For details, please see changing type of access or stopping sharing.

Available configurations on the pop-up window

The following pop-up window is displayed when you select the [共有 (Share)] or [共有済み (Shared)].

Shared link

Obtaining a shared link

You can obtain a shared link from the [共有リンク (Shared link)] in the pop-up window. Other users can access to the shared contents through the shared link.

Changing type of access or stopping sharing

You can change scope of sharing as type of access or stop sharing by selecting the blue letters below the shared link. Although the blue letter expresses [このフォルダ内のユーザー (Users in this folder)] in the above figure, the letter varies according to the current scope of sharing. You can choose types of access from the listed candidates below.

  • [リンクを知っている全員 (All members who know the link)] - All users including outside of Keio University can access to the shared contents. The access is also permitted to people who do not have Box account.
  • [会社のユーザー (Company's users)] - Access is permitted only to users with Keio ID.
  • [このフォルダ内のユーザー (Users in this folder)] - Access is permitted only to collaborators in the files including folders and files you wish to share.
  • [リンクを削除 (Delete link)] - Stop sharing by deleting the shared link.

Configuration of shared link

You can configure the details of shared link by selecting the gear icon above and to the right of the [共有リンク (Shared link)]. Please note that the contents of the configuration are different according to the current scope of sharing.

  • [カスタムURL (Custom URL)] - The character string at the end of the shared URL is normally set randomly. You can freely change the character string at the end by setting here.
  • [パスワード保護 (Password protection)] - This option is displayed only in the case where [リンクを知っている全員 (All members who know the link)] has been set as the type of access .You can set password-based restrictions on access to the shared link.
  • [リンク有効期限 (Valid period of the link)] - You can set a time limit on sharing.
  • [ダウンロードを許可 (Permit downloading)] - This option is displayed only in the case where the object of sharing is a folder. It permits only preview while prohibiting downloading of files in the shared folder.
  • [直接リンク (Direct link)] - This option is not displayed in the above figure, but it is displayed only in the case where the object of sharing is a file. You can directly access to the shared file via the direct link.

Sending a shared link via e-mail

You can send a shared link by e-mail to any other user by entering the form: [共有リンクをメールで送信 (Send shared link by email)]

Last-Modified: June 14, 2016

The content ends at this position.